Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service

From the Spring/Summer 2017 Magazine

was recognized in an April 2017 symposium named in his honor, “Chemistry of Water Treatment from Sorption to Taste and Odor: A symposium honoring the contributions of Mel Suffet,” sponsored by the American Chemical Society’s Division of Environmental Chemistry.
was selected to serve as co-chair of the End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Dialysis Facility Compare (DFC) Star Ratings Technical Expert Panel (TEP).
received the 2016 Catherine Cowell Award sponsored by the Food and Nutrition Section of the American Public Health Association.
received the faculty/practitioner award for the 2017 Reflection in Global Health essay contest from the Consortium of Universities for Global Health.
was named chair-elect of the 2016- 2017 Global Healthcare Management Faculty Forum for the Association of University Programs in Health Administration.
was elected to serve as a director of Desert Healthcare District.
was elected to serve as board member and committee member on the 2017 AcademyHealth Board of Directors.

From the Spring/Summer 2016 Magazine

received the 2015 Innovation in Regulatory Science Award from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.
was one of two recipients of the 2016 Causality in Statistics Education Award from the American Statistical Association.
was honored with the Armenian American Medical Society’s Health and Heritage Award.
was selected as a 2015 Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellow and received the 2016 Distinguished Achievement Medal from the American Statistical Association Section on Statistics and the Environment.
and Kenneth Wells, members of the Community Partners in Care program, shared in the UCLA Community Program of the Year, Landmark Award 2015.
and Thomas Belin, members of the Community Partners in Care program, shared in the UCLA Community Program of the Year, Landmark Award 2015.
 received the American Statistical Association’s 2016 Karl E. Peace Award for Outstanding Statistical Contributions for the Betterment of Society.
was honored for 50 years of contributions to the field of pharmaceutical economics at a 2015 conference held in his name at the University of British Columbia.
was appointed to the Standing Committee on Medical and Public Health Research During Large-Scale Emergency Events of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.
was reappointed to the City of Calabasas Environmental Commission.
was selected as a member of the Advisory Committee to the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and appointed to the national Advisory Committee on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health.
was selected to serve on the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee, Community Based Solutions to Promote Health Equity in the United States.
was honored with the Inaugural Joseph V. Simone Award and Lecture by the American Society of Clinical Oncology at the 2016 Quality Care Symposium.


Subscribe to Faculty Profiles from the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health