Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service

From the Spring/Summer 2015 Magazine

Kar Headshot
was invited to be a keynote speaker at the International Conference on Evidence Based Management 2015 by the Birla Institute of Technology and Science in Pilani, India.
Leeka Kheifets headshot
was elected to serve on the National Academy of Sciences Committees on Airport Passenger Screening: Backscatter Millimeter Wave Machines.
Gerald Kominski headshot
was appointed to the National Advisory Board of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Center at Meharry Medical College.
Vickie Mays portrait
was reappointed by the U.S. House of Representatives to serve a second term on the National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics. 
served on the Institute of Medicine Standing Committee on Nurse Credentialing Research and the IOM Committee for the Evaluation of the Impact of the Institute of Medicine Report The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health.
Beate Ritz headshot
was appointed to the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Incorporating 21st Century Science into Risk-Based Evaluations.
linda rosenstock headshot
was honored as a 2014 International Scholar by the Open Society Foundations.
Robert Schiestl headshot
was named 2015 Professional of the Year by America’s Registry of Outstanding Professionals.
Brennan Spiegel headshot
was selected to become co-editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Gastroenterology.
Catherine Sugar
was elected as a 2015 Fellow of the American Statistical Association and is currently serving as president of the ASA Southern California chapter. 
Nathan Wong
received a 2014 Distinguished Fellowship Award from the International Academy of Cardiology and an Honorary Membership by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

From the Spring/Summer 2014 Magazine

Marc Suchard
was awarded the 2013 Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies Presidents' Award for contributions to the profession of statistics. 
Dr. Jody Heymann
was elected to the Institute of Medicine.
Patricia Ganz
gave the 2014 Charles A. LeMaistre Lecture in Oncology and Cancer Prevention at the MD Anderson Cancer Center at the University of Texas.
John Froines
received the 2013 Ramazzini Award for his work in occupational and environmental health research and advocacy.
Chandra Ford
was awarded the Kaiser Permanente Burch Minority Leadership Development scholarship to study barriers to health services.
Ron Brookmeyer
was the 2014 Norman Breslow Distinguished Lecturer in Biostatistics at the University of Washington and was appointed to the Board of Reviewing Editors for Science Magazine.
Oliver Hankinson
was selected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
Richard Jackson
received the Joan H. Tisch fellowship and gave the Joan H. Tisch fellowship lecture at the Roosevelt House Public Policy Institute in New York. He gave the Herbert Goldenring Lecture at the Yale School of Medicine. 
Dr. Steve Wallace
received the 2013 Betty & James E. Birren Senior Scholar Award from the California Council on Gerontology & Geriatrics.


Subscribe to Faculty Profiles from the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health