Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service

From the Spring/Summer 2016 Magazine

was reappointed to the City of Calabasas Environmental Commission.
was selected as a member of the Advisory Committee to the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and appointed to the national Advisory Committee on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health.
was selected to serve on the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee, Community Based Solutions to Promote Health Equity in the United States.
was honored with the Inaugural Joseph V. Simone Award and Lecture by the American Society of Clinical Oncology at the 2016 Quality Care Symposium.
won the Leadership Award of the American Industrial Hygiene Association. Richard Jackson was named FSPH’s 2016 Dean’s Distinguished Scholar.
was identified by Thompson Reuters as one of the World’s Most Highly Cited Researchers for 2015.
received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2015 Asian & Pacific Islander Caucus, hosted by the American Public Health Association; and was one of two recipients of the C. Doris and Toshio Hoshide Distinguished Teaching Prize in Asian American Studies at UCLA for 2014-15. She also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Asian American Network for Cancer Awareness, Research, and Training.
was selected to serve on a committee for the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine that will conduct a study and provide a report with findings and recommendations on the status and utilization of molybdenum-99 for medical use.
was named chairperson of the Healthcare Systems and Value Research study section of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; and was selected to serve on a committee for the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine: Developing a Smarter National Surveillance System for Occupational Safety and Health in the 21st Century.
was selected to serve on the 2015 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine Committee for Assessing Progress on Implementing the Recommendations of the Institute of Medicine Report, “The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health.” He was appointed to membership of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Indicator Standing Workgroup, and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Technical Expert Panel for the 2018 Impact Assessment of CMS Quality and Efficiency Measures. Charlotte Neumann received a 2016-17 Council on Research Award from the UCLA Academic Senate to complete her research and fieldwork on nutrition in Kenya.
was selected as co-chair of the Standing Committee to Address Healthcare Disparities for the National Quality Forum, and executive planning committee member of the 2015 AcademyHealth Annual Research Meeting. She was chosen to serve as advisor for the National Institute of Minority Health Disparities Visioning on Measures and Methods, and served on an advisory panel for the journal Health Affairs on a multi-year initiative focused on health equity and the elimination of health disparities.
received the 2016 John M. Eisenberg National Award for Achievement in Research from the Society of General Internal Medicine, and earned a Certificate of Recognition from the VHA Health Services Research and Development Service, Quality Enhancement Research Initiative, Outstanding Service Award.
was selected as a 2015 Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellow.
received the 2016 Pearmain Prize from the USC Roybal Institute Distinguished Scholar Advisory Board.
was invited by the State Council of the People’s Republic of China and the China Overseas Exchange Association to participate in the 2015 Eminent Young Overseas Chinese Forum held in Beijing.

From the Spring/Summer 2015 Magazine

Patrick Allard portrait
was awarded the 2015 International ToxScholar Grant, the second time he has received this honor from the Society of Toxicology.
Sudipto Banerjee headshot
was elected as a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics; awarded a Distinguished Achievement Medal for 2015 by the Section on Statistics and the Environment of the American Statistical Association; and will be the Presidential Invited Speaker at the 2015 Western North American Region of the International Biometric Society annual meeting.
Diana Bontá headshot
received a 2015 Hispanics in Philanthropy Giver Award and the 2014 Bronx Community College Alumni Leadership Award. 
Ron Brookmeyer headshot
received the 2015 Nathan Mantel Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Statistical Association. 
Paul Chung headshot
was elected chair of the Pediatric Policy Council, a national child health policy consortium of academic pediatric organizations.


Subscribe to Faculty Profiles from the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health