Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service

From the Spring/Summer 2017 Magazine

member of the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s Literature Selection Technical Review Committee for 2016-2020.
received the Best Paper Prize for 2015 from the editors in chief of Aging Cell.
and Pablo Cicero-Fernandez received the Professional Achievement Award for 2016 from the Professional Engineers in California Government for their contributions to the project, “VW Diesel Cheating Detection Team.”
was appointed to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine: 2017 Standing Committee on Geographical Sciences; and was identified by Thomson Reuters as one of the World’s Most Highly Cited Researchers for 2016.
served on a committee for the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine that published a report with findings and recommendations on the status and utilization of molybdenum-99 for medical use.
was appointed by UC President Janet Napolitano to serve as the UC Academic Senate representative and voting member of the newly established Executive Steering Committee on Health Benefits for UC faculty and staff.
was appointed to a five-year term as member of the Population Sciences Subcommittee for the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.
received the Faculty Community Service and Praxis Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Award from the UCLA Academic Senate.
was elected to serve as member of the AcademyHealth Education Council.
was appointed to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Board of Scientific Counselors, National Center for Health Statistics 2017.
was named president-elect of the International Society for Environmental Epidemiology; and was appointed to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee: Review of the Health Effects in Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides–Eleventh Biennial Update.
was inducted as Honorary Fellow to the New York Academy of Medicine for receiving the 2016 Stephen Smith Award for Distinguished Contributions in Public Health.
was selected to receive the 2017 L. Adrienne Cupples Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service in Biostatistics from Boston University.
was selected as a 2016 Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellow.
was recognized in an April 2017 symposium named in his honor, “Chemistry of Water Treatment from Sorption to Taste and Odor: A symposium honoring the contributions of Mel Suffet,” sponsored by the American Chemical Society’s Division of Environmental Chemistry.
was selected to serve as co-chair of the End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Dialysis Facility Compare (DFC) Star Ratings Technical Expert Panel (TEP).
received the 2016 Catherine Cowell Award sponsored by the Food and Nutrition Section of the American Public Health Association.
received the faculty/practitioner award for the 2017 Reflection in Global Health essay contest from the Consortium of Universities for Global Health.
was named chair-elect of the 2016- 2017 Global Healthcare Management Faculty Forum for the Association of University Programs in Health Administration.
was elected to serve as a director of Desert Healthcare District.


Subscribe to Faculty Profiles from the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health