Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service

From the June 2012 Magazine

Beate Ritz head shot
was appointed as the epidemiology member of the Scientific Review Panel on Toxic Air Contaminants of the California Environmental Protection Agency.
Richard Jackson head shot
received the 2011 Milton and Ruth Roemer Award for Excellence in Public Health Practice from the Southern California Public Health Association.
Yifang Zhu head shot
was awarded the 2011 Haagen-Smit Prize, given annually to the authors of two outstanding papers published in the international journal Atmospheric Environment.
Mark Litwin head shot
was appointed chair of the UCLA Department of Urology.
John Froines head shot
received the Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award from the California Air Resources Board, recognizing his outstanding contributions toward improving air quality.
Ron Brookmeyer head shot
delivered the 2012 Donna J. Brogan Lecture at Emory University.

From the June 2011 Magazine

Charlotte Neumann head shot
received the Nevien Scrimshaw Award for Distinguished Service to Nutrition at the African Epidemiology Conference of the Kenya Medical Research Institute, in collaboration with the Council of the African Nutrition Society. The award is in recognition of her dedication to maternal and child health and nutrition and research in sub-Saharan Africa.
Michael Lu head shot
was appointed by Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius to chair the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality.
Leah Vriesman head shot
was a 2010-11 U.S. Senior Fulbright Award recipient, conducting research and teaching health care management at the University of Applied Sciences in Neu Ulm, Germany.
Cristina Tirado head shot
was appointed director of the Center for Public Health and Climate Change at the Public Health Institute in Oakland. She was also nominated as moderator of the United Nations Standing Committee on Nutrition's Working Group on Climate Change and Nutrition.
Linda Rosenstock head shot
was appointed by President Obama to the Advisory Group on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health. She is chair of the Preventive Services for Women Committee of the Institute of Medicine and was awarded the James P. Keogh Award from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.
Vickie Mays head shot
was appointed by House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi to fill the House of Representatives seat on the National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics.
Mark Litwin head shot
received the 2011 Distinguished Service Award from the American Urological Association for his contributions to the establishment of the discipline of health services research in urology.
Richard Jackson head shot
chairs the Committee on Health Impact Assessments of the Institute of Medicine; and the Policies and Practices Work Group of the National Conversation on Chemical Exposures, a joint project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. He received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Public Health Law Association.
Diana Hilberman head shot
is serving on the executive committee of the Association of University Programs in Health Administration.
Kimberly Gregory head shot
received the ACOG Mentor Award from the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.
Patricia Ganz head shot
received the American Cancer Society Medal of Honor and the American Society of Preventive Oncology Distinguished Achievement Award.
John Froines head shot
received the California Air Resources Board's Clean Air Award for 2010 in the category of Air Pollution Research.
Jonathan Fielding head shot
was appointed by President Obama to the Advisory Group on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health.
Ron Brookmeyer head shot
was awarded the Presidential Citation of Cooper Union at the college's 151st commencement.


Subscribe to Faculty Profiles from the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health