Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service

From the Spring/Summer 2016 Magazine

was selected as co-chair of the Standing Committee to Address Healthcare Disparities for the National Quality Forum, and executive planning committee member of the 2015 AcademyHealth Annual Research Meeting. She was chosen to serve as advisor for the National Institute of Minority Health Disparities Visioning on Measures and Methods, and served on an advisory panel for the journal Health Affairs on a multi-year initiative focused on health equity and the elimination of health disparities.
received the 2016 John M. Eisenberg National Award for Achievement in Research from the Society of General Internal Medicine, and earned a Certificate of Recognition from the VHA Health Services Research and Development Service, Quality Enhancement Research Initiative, Outstanding Service Award.
was selected as a 2015 Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellow.
received the 2016 Pearmain Prize from the USC Roybal Institute Distinguished Scholar Advisory Board.
was invited by the State Council of the People’s Republic of China and the China Overseas Exchange Association to participate in the 2015 Eminent Young Overseas Chinese Forum held in Beijing.

From the Spring/Summer 2015 Magazine

Patrick Allard portrait
was awarded the 2015 International ToxScholar Grant, the second time he has received this honor from the Society of Toxicology.
Sudipto Banerjee headshot
was elected as a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics; awarded a Distinguished Achievement Medal for 2015 by the Section on Statistics and the Environment of the American Statistical Association; and will be the Presidential Invited Speaker at the 2015 Western North American Region of the International Biometric Society annual meeting.
Diana Bontá headshot
received a 2015 Hispanics in Philanthropy Giver Award and the 2014 Bronx Community College Alumni Leadership Award. 
Ron Brookmeyer headshot
received the 2015 Nathan Mantel Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Statistical Association. 
Paul Chung headshot
was elected chair of the Pediatric Policy Council, a national child health policy consortium of academic pediatric organizations.
Linda Delp photo
received the American Public Health Association Occupational Health and Safety Section’s Alice Hamilton Award. 
Alina Dorian Headshot
was named Educator of the Month by the Los Angeles Lakers organization for April 2015.
Richard Jackson headshot
received the 2015 Henry Hope Reed Award from the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture.
Marjorie Kagawa-Singer portrait
was selected as the 2015 Fielding School of Public Health Dean’s Distinguished Scholar and Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecturer; she also convened and led the Culture Research and Health Outcomes Panel for the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research.
Kar Headshot
was invited to be a keynote speaker at the International Conference on Evidence Based Management 2015 by the Birla Institute of Technology and Science in Pilani, India.
Leeka Kheifets headshot
was elected to serve on the National Academy of Sciences Committees on Airport Passenger Screening: Backscatter Millimeter Wave Machines.
Gerald Kominski headshot
was appointed to the National Advisory Board of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Center at Meharry Medical College.
Vickie Mays portrait
was reappointed by the U.S. House of Representatives to serve a second term on the National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics. 
served on the Institute of Medicine Standing Committee on Nurse Credentialing Research and the IOM Committee for the Evaluation of the Impact of the Institute of Medicine Report The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health.
Beate Ritz headshot
was appointed to the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Incorporating 21st Century Science into Risk-Based Evaluations.


Subscribe to Faculty Profiles from the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health