Skip to:

2015 Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees

Doris Browne, MD, MPH '68
Mario Ricardo Calderón, MD, MPH '84
Fred Wasserman, DrPH '76, MBA, MPH '72

On April 1, the Fielding School hosted the 41st Annual Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecture, dedicated to the memory of former FSPH Dean and renowned public health leader Dr. Lester Breslow. The event also included the induction of three 2015 FSPH Alumni Hall of Fame honorees and presentations by the 2015 Breslow Student Writing Competition finalists. The 2015 Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees all have spent their careers working to eliminate health disparities in their communities:

  • Doris Browne, MD, MPH '68, is a medical oncologist and medical management expert who has dedicated her life to prevention and education programs related to cancer, women's health, HIV/AIDS and chronic diseases, as well as to enhancing participation of minority and underserved populations in clinical trials. 
  • Mario Ricardo Calderón, MD, MPH '84,has spent more than 25 years fostering leaders in public health and international development in dozens of countries, including El Salvador where he served as national director of World Vision El Salvador.
  • Fred Wasserman, DrPH '76, MBA, MPH '72, formed a group practice of physicians in 1973 that grew to become one of the first Federally Qualified HMOs in the U.S. He and his wife Pamela have long worked towards improving the quality of health care in the U.S. and reforming health care policy.


Video Category: 
Video Date: 
April 2015
Academic Year: