Skip to:

43rd Annual Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecture Focuses on Public Health and Human Rights

2017 Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecturer, Dr. Eric Esrailian, shared a moving lecture entitled, "Keeping the Promise: A Journey of Healing and Human Rights." The Fielding School also honored three new Alumni Hall of Fame inductees and winners of the student writing competition.

Friday, June 9, 2017
Student Writing Competition winners with Dean Jody Heymann and Dr. Hilary Godwin

On June 8, the Fielding School hosted the 43rd Annual Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecture, dedicated to the memory of former FSPH professor, dean and renowned public health leader Dr. Lester Breslow.

The event included the namesake lecture, delivered by honoree Dr. Eric Esrailian and titled,"Keeping the Promise: A Journey of Healing and Human Rights." Dr. Esrailian serves as Co-Chief of UCLA’s Vatche and Tamar Manoukian Division of Digestive Diseases and the Lincy Foundation Chair in Clinical Gastroenterology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

The Fielding School also announced the 2017 Alumni Hall of Fame inductees: Dr. Elaine E. Batchlor , MPH '90 (Department of Health Policy and Management); Rachel A. Hornstein, MPH '13 (Department of Health Policy and Management); and Dr. Elizabeth M. Yano, PhD '96; MSPH '87 (Department of Epidemiology). The Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecture was created 43 years ago by Dr. Ray Goodman, also a graduate of the Fielding School and one of the first inductees into the FSPH Alumni Hall of Fame.

This year's five Breslow Student Writing Competition winners addressed the following question:

"How would you bring people together across divides to advance health for all? You may address national or global divides."

Each winner was selected by their respective FSPH academic department:

Veronica Kapoor, MPH '18 candidate in the Department of Health Policy and Management, was selected by a panel of distinguished judges as the grand prize winner of $5,000 provided courtesy of the Breslow Student Fellowship Fund. Each of the winners also received $1,000 from Molina Healthcare, which co-sponsored the competition.

Dr. Eric Esrailian delivers his presentation: "Keeping the Promise: A Journey of Healing and Human Rights."
The Student Writing Competition winners each received $1,000 prizes, with an additional $5,000 scholarship going to the grand prize winner.
2017 Alumni Hall of Fame Honorees Dr. Elaine E. Batchlor, Dr. Elizabeth M. Yano, and Rachel A. Hornstein with FSPH Dean Jody Heymann.

View more photos from the 43nd Annual Breslow Distinguished Lecture