Skip to:

"COVID-19 Vaccination: It Matters in Saving Black Lives"

Vickie Mays, UCLA Fielding School of Public Health professor of health policy and management, co-chaired a virtual town hall — "COVID-19 Vaccination: It Matters in Saving Black Lives" — on the importance of the vaccination campaign

Saturday, January 16, 2021

"One of the goals is for us to provide you with scientific information about COVID-19," said Vickie Mays, director of the UCLA BRITE Center for Science, Research and Policy, who co-chaired the town hall event with Dr. Richard A. Williams, founder and president of the Minority Health Insitute and professor of medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. "It's from people who are working on the front lines (and) we're trying to use our two ears very well, to listen in terms of being able to lead, and to serve."

COVID-19 Vaccination: It Matters in Saving Black Lives

The Minority Health Institute and UCLA BRITE Center for Science, Research and Policy sponsored a virtual town hall Jan. 16 with some of the nations’ premier COVID-19 experts and historically Black institution and organization leaders to address facts, fears and myths pertaining to COVID-19 vaccination to support the fight to protect and save Black lives.


Vickie M. Mays, Director, UCLA BRITE Center for Science, Research & Policy Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychology in the College of Letters and Science, UCLA Distinguished Professor, Department of Health Policy and Management in the Jonathan and Karin Fielding School of Public Health, UCLA Special Advisor to UCLA Chancellor Gene D. Block, PhD on Black Life
• Dr. Richard Allen Williams, Founder & President, Minority Health Institute Clinical Professor of Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA 117th President, National Medical Association Founder, Association of Black Cardiologists


  • Danielle W. Delaney, President, Danielle Delaney Counseling
  • Derrick Johnson, President and CEO, NAACP
  • Dwayne M. Murray, Grand Sire Archon, Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity (also known as the Boule’)
  • Dr. Elena V. Rios, President & CEO, National Hispanic Medical Association
  • Dr. Georges C. Benjamin, Executive Director, American Public Health Association
  • Dr. Jehan (Gigi) El-Bayoumi, Founding Director, Rodham Institute, Professor of Medicine, George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Kizzmekia S. Corbett, Senior Research Fellow, Research Fellow & Scientific Lead, VRC | NIAID | NIH
  • Dr. Lauren A. Smith, Chief Health Equity and Strategy Officer, CDC Foundation
  • Dr. Lilly Cheng Immergluck, Professor of Microbiology, Biochemistry & Immunology Site Principal Investigator US COVID-19 Prevention Network, Morehouse School of Medicine
  • Dr. Marcella Nunez-Smith, Co-chair of the Biden-Harris Transition COVID-19 Advisory Board and Equity Task Force
  • Martha Dawson, President, National Black Nurses Association
  • Melina Abdullah, Chair of the Department of Pan-African Studies at California State University, Los Angeles Co-founder, Los Angeles Chapter of Black Lives Matter
  • Mia R. Keeys, Director of Health Equity Policy & Advocacy, American Medical Association
  • Dr. Michelle McMurry-Heath, President & CEO, Biotechnology Innovation Organization
  • Dr. Muntu Davis, County Health Officer, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
  • Dr. Nancy Messonnier, Director, National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases Senior Official, Covid-19 Vaccine Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Dr. Oliver T. Brooks, Chief Medical Officer, Watts Healthcare Corp. 120th President, National Medical Association
  • Dr. Patrice A. Harris, 174th President, American Medical Association
  • Dr. Reed V. Tuckson, Managing Director of Tuckson Health, Chairman of the Board of Directors, ViTel Net, LLC Co-founder, Black Coalition Against COVID
  • Stephen B. Thomas, Director, University of Maryland Center for Health Equity Professor, Department of Health Services Administration, University of Maryland School of Public Health
  • Thomas W. Dortch, Jr. ,Chairman, 100 Black Men of America
  • Dr. Vivek H. Murthy, COVID Task Force Co-Chair and nominee for 21st Surgeon General of the United States
  • Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick, President, Howard University