Skip to:

    • ucla fielding school of public health faculty honors

2015 Fielding School of Public Health Faculty Honors

2015 FSPH faculty honors now in the Spring/Summer 2015 UCLA Public Health Magazine.
Friday, July 3, 2015

The Spring/Summer 2015 UCLA Public Health Magazine features honors bestowed upon Fielding School faculty for their tremendous contributions to public health.


Patrick Allard was awarded the 2015 International ToxScholar Grant, the second time he has received this honor from the Society of Toxicology.

Sudipto Banerjee was elected as a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics ; awarded a Distinguished Achievement Medal for 2015 by the Section on Statistics and the Environment of the American Statistical Association; and will be the Presidential Invited Speaker at the 2015 Western North American Region of the International Biometric Society annual meeting.

Diana Bontá received a 2015 Hispanics in Philanthropy Giver Award and the 2014 Bronx Community College Alumni Leadership Award.

Ron Brookmeyer received the 2015 Nathan Mantel Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Statistical Association.

Paul Chung was elected chair of the Pediatric Policy Council, a national child health policy consortium of academic pediatric organizations.

Linda Delp received the American Public Health Association Occupational Health and Safety Section’s Alice Hamilton Award.

Alina Dorian was named Educator of the Month by the Los Angeles Lakers organization for April 2015.

Richard Jackson received the 2015 Henry Hope Reed Award from the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture.

Marjorie Kagawa-Singer was selected as the 2015 Fielding School of Public Health Dean’s Distinguished Scholar and Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecturer; she also served as principal investigator for the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research’s Culture Research and Health Outcomes Panel.

Snehendu Kar was invited to be a keynote speaker at the International Conference on Evidence Based Management 2015 by the Birla Institute of Technology and Science in Pilani, India.

Leeka Kheifets was elected to serve on the National Academy of Sciences Committees on Airport Passenger Screening: Backscatter Millimeter Wave Machines.

Susan Kirby served as co-chair of the Society of Public Health Education’s Health Communications/Social Marketing Community of Practice, and also as guest editor for Social Marketing Quarterly.

Gerald Kominski was appointed to the National Advisory Board of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Center at Meharry Medical College.

Vickie Mays was reappointed by the U.S. House of Representatives to serve a second term on the National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics.

Jack Needleman served on the Institute of Medicine Standing Committee on Nurse Credentialing Research and the IOM Committee for the Evaluation of the Impact of the Institute of Medicine Report The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health

Beate Ritz was appointed to the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Incorporating 21st Century Science into Risk-Based Evaluations.

Linda Rosenstock was honored as a 2014 International Scholar by the Open Society Foundations.

Robert Schiestl was named 2015 Professional of the Year by America’s Registry of Outstanding Professionals.

Brennan Spiegel was selected to become co-editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Gastroenterology.

Catherine Sugar was elected as a 2015 Fellow of the American Statistical Association and is currently serving as president of the ASA Southern California chapter.

Nathan Wong received a 2014 Distinguished Fellowship Award from the International Academy of Cardiology and an Honorary Membership by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.


View 2015 Faculty Honors online

View 2015 Faculty Honors as they appear in UCLA Public Health Magazine