Dr. Kelsey Martin, dean of the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, and Dr. Anne L. Coleman, professor of epidemiology at the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health and the Fran and Ray Stark Foundation Professor of Ophthalmology at the medical school’s Stein Eye Institute, were among 70 new members announced today at the academy’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Professor Coleman is a surgeon specializing in glaucoma and directs the UCLA Mobile Eye Clinic which provides care to underserved populations. Her research focuses on the public health impact, risk factors, causes and treatments of blindness around the world.

“These newly elected members are outstanding professionals who care deeply about advancing health and health care in the U.S. and globally,” National Academy of Medicine President Victor Dzau said in the academy’s announcement. “Their expertise will help our organization address pressing health challenges and improve health, science and medicine for the benefit of us all.”

Membership in the National Academy of Medicine recognizes those who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievements, commitment to service and contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health. The National Academy of Medicine provides independent analysis, informs public policy decisions, encourages education and research and increases public understanding of medical and health issues. Until 2015, it was known as the Institute of Medicine, which was established in 1970 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences.