Skip to:

38th Annual Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecture, Alumni Hall of Fame Induction, and Student Competition

38th Annual Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecture, Alumni Hall of Fame Induction, and Student Competition

Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Neuroscience Research Building (NRB) Auditorium, UCLA
635 Charles E Young Drive South
90095 Los Angeles , CA
California US
The 38th Annual Lester Breslow Distinguished Lecture
Including the 2012 Alumni Hall of Fame Induction and the 2012 Student Competition
Wednesday, April 18, 2012

4:00 - 6:00pm, with a reception to follow

UCLA Neuroscience Research Building Auditorium
635 Charles E. Young Drive South, Los Angeles
Featuring Thomas Rice, PhD
Dean's Distinguished Scholar for 2012

"Risk and Responsibility: Challenges Facing Consumers
and Government in the Health Information Age"

Thomas Rice is Distinguished Professor of Health Services. He served as Vice Chancellor, Academic Personnel for the UCLA campus from 2006-11. Dr. Rice has testified before the U.S. Congress numerous times on various health policy issues. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Science in 2006. Dr. Rice served as Editor of the journal "Medical Care Research and Review" from 1994-2000. The third edition of his book, "The Economics of Health Reconsidered", was published in 2009.

2012 Alumni Hall of Fame inductees:

Frederick J. Angulo, DVM, PhD
Dr. Angulo served 16 years in the Foodborne Diseases Branch of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), where he established several national surveillance programs including FoodNet and the National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System (NARMS). In 2010, he joined the CDC’s Center for Global Health to direct the Global Disease Detection program, which conducts infectious disease capacity building efforts in more than 25 countries. He received his PhD in Epidemiology from UCLA in 1995.

Claire D. Brindis, MPH, DrPH
Dr. Brindis is the Director of the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies and a Professor of Pediatrics at UC San Francisco. She is also Director of the Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health and Executive Director of the National Adolescent Health Information and Innovation Center. Dr. Brindis’ research focuses on women’s, adolescent, and child health policy at the state and national level, and evaluations of adolescent pregnancy and pregnancy prevention and reproductive health services. Dr. Brindis is a member of the IOM. She received her MPH in Community Health Sciences from UCLA in 1973.

Nuntavarn Vichit-Vadakan, MPH, DrPH
Dr. Vichit-Vadakan is the Founding Dean of the Faculty of Public Health at Thammasat University in Thailand. Her research on the effects of air pollution and health has led to national policy and interventions, most notably the elimination of lead from gasoline, the establishment of national air quality standards, and implementation of environmental mitigation measures. She serves as the lead negotiator for Thailand at the Conference of the Parties for the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC), which is the first international health treaty. Dr. Vichit-Vadakan received both her degrees -- an MPH in 1981 and a DrPH in 1987 -- in Community Health Sciences from UCLA.

2012 Student Competition:
Five students, representing each of the School's departments and winner of a $1,000 prize from Molina Healthcare Inc., will give a five-minute oral presentation how they would either solve or creatively analyze or evaluate health disparities.  A distinguished panel of judges will select the grand-prize winner, who will receive a $5,000 prize courtesy of the Breslow Student Fellowship Fund.

Contest is sponsored by:

UCLA Fielding School of Public Health Community and Alumni Relations Committee
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health Office of the Dean
UCLA Public Health Alumni Association

This event is free to students, alumni, faculty and friends.

Please registere HERE:

To forward this to a friend or colleague, please click HERE.