2022 UCLA FSPH Student Academic Honors and Awards Ceremony

The UCLA Fielding School of Public Health recognized 15 students in a ceremony attended by family, friends, students, alumni, faculty and staff.

Student receiving award from professor

The UCLA Fielding School of Public Health recognized 15 outstanding students at the 2022 UCLA FSPH Student Academic Honors and Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, June 8. The awards were conferred by Dr. Ron Brookmeyer, dean of the Fielding School and a distinguished professor of biostatistics, and faculty from across the school. The ceremony honored some 15 exemplary individuals, including continuing students, 2022 graduates, and some recent graduates whose recognition was delayed due to the pandemic. These include:

THE ABDELMONEM A. AFIFI FELLOWSHIP - Karina Barajas (Health Policy and Management)

The Abdelmonem A. Afifi Student Fellowship was established upon Professor Afifi’s completion of 15 years of service as Dean of the schools.  Recipients are selected for academic excellence and demonstrating a well-balanced and humanitarian understanding of the field of public health.   

THE CELIA AND JOSEPH BLANN FELLOWSHIP - Richard Williams (Biostatistics) and Rebecca Woofter (Community Health Sciences)

Annette Blann created the Celia G. and Joseph G. Blann Fellowship, awarded annually to doctoral students on the basis of academic excellence, to honor the memory of her parents. A 1954 UCLA graduate, she was committed to the enhancement of health and the promotion of well-being. 

THE E. RICHARD BROWN SOCIAL JUSTICE AWARD - Carlos Oronce (Health Policy and Management)

The E. Richard Brown Social Justice Fellowship was established in honor of the late faculty member E. Richard Brown, founder of the Center for Health Policy Research, and provides support to a student who conducts research and/or advocates policy to expand health care coverage for all.


Juneal Smith’s parents established the Juneal Marie Smith Fellowship in their daughter’s memory to support graduate students pursuing careers in international nutrition.  Juneal Marie Smith, who received her MPH and PhD from the Fielding School, combined her scholarship with a commitment to helping underserved communities worldwide through her work in the area of nutrition. 

THE SAMUEL J. TIBBITTS FELLOWSHIP - Jonathan Liu (Environmental Health Sciences)

Family members and friends established the Samuel J. Tibbitts Fellowship in honor of Samuel Tibbitts to award students for their academic excellence and commitment to public health. Samuel Tibbitts received a bachelor’s degree in public health from UCLA in 1949. A pioneer in the field of managed care, he founded PacifiCare, one of the nation’s first major HMOs, and was vice chair until his death in 1994. 


The Dean’s Outstanding Student Awards, which recognize the exemplary scholastic achievement, leadership, and commitment to community service of one student from each of the Fielding School's five academic departments.   

  • Leiwen Gao (Biostatistics); 
  • Rebekah Israel Cross (Community Health Sciences);
  • Liqiao Li (Environmental Health Sciences);
  • Allison Rosen, (Epidemiology);
  • Elaine Alberton, (Health Policy and Management).

THE CAROLBETH KORN SCHOLAR AWARD - Melissa Soohoo (Epidemiology)

As an alum of UCLA who earned her bachelor’s degree in public health, Mrs. Korn believed in—and encouraged—the potential of our students to enrich the lives of many. At the end of 2005, Mrs. Korn established an endowed prize to honor an outstanding graduating student each year.


Dr. Breslow is a former dean of our school, beloved professor, and luminary in our field. He is credited with pioneering chronic disease prevention and health behavior intervention, and for establishing the connection between mortality and lifestyle issues. This award is given in Dr. Breslow’s memory.

  • Alyssa Arbolante (Community Health Sciences);
  • Gabriela Lazalde (Community Health Sciences);
  • Anika Washington (Health Policy and Management).

To view the student honors and awards ceremony programplease click here.

To view and download photosplease click here.