Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service


Patrick Allard received the 2015 Innovation in Regulatory Science Award from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.

Onyebuchi Arah was one of two recipients of the 2016 Causality in Statistics Education Award from the American Statistical Association.

Haroutune Armenian was honored with the Armenian American Medical Society’s Health and Heritage Award.

Sudipto Banerjee was selected as a 2015 Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellow and received the 2016 Distinguished Achievement Medal from the American Statistical Association Section on Statistics and the Environment.

Thomas Belin and Kenneth Wells, members of the Community Partners in Care program, shared in the UCLA Community Program of the Year, Landmark Award 2015.

Ron Brookmeyer received the American Statistical Association’s 2016 Karl E. Peace Award for Outstanding Statistical Contributions for the Betterment of Society.

William Comanor was honored for 50 years of contributions to the field of pharmaceutical economics at a 2015 conference held in his name at the University of British Columbia.

Aram Dobalian was appointed to the Standing Committee on Medical and Public Health Research During Large-Scale Emergency Events of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

Julie Elginer was reappointed to the City of Calabasas Environmental Commission.

Jonathan Fielding was selected as a member of the Advisory Committee to the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and appointed to the national Advisory Committee on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health.

Chandra Ford was selected to serve on the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee, Community Based Solutions to Promote Health Equity in the United States.

Patricia Ganz was honored with the Inaugural Joseph V. Simone Award and Lecture by the American Society of Clinical Oncology at the 2016 Quality Care Symposium.

Shane Que Hee won the Leadership Award of the American Industrial Hygiene Association. Richard Jackson was named FSPH’s 2016 Dean’s Distinguished Scholar.

Mike Jerrett was identified by Thompson Reuters as one of the World’s Most Highly Cited Researchers for 2015.

Marjorie Kagawa-Singer received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2015 Asian & Pacific Islander Caucus, hosted by the American Public Health Association; and was one of two recipients of the C. Doris and Toshio Hoshide Distinguished Teaching Prize in Asian American Studies at UCLA for 2014-15. She also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Asian American Network for Cancer Awareness, Research, and Training.

Emmett Keeler was selected to serve on a committee for the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine that will conduct a study and provide a report with findings and recommendations on the status and utilization of molybdenum-99 for medical use.

Gerald Kominski was named chairperson of the Healthcare Systems and Value Research study section of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; and was selected to serve on a committee for the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine: Developing a Smarter National Surveillance System for Occupational Safety and Health in the 21st Century.

Jack Needleman was selected to serve on the 2015 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine Committee for Assessing Progress on Implementing the Recommendations of the Institute of Medicine Report, “The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health.” He was appointed to membership of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Indicator Standing Workgroup, and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Technical Expert Panel for the 2018 Impact Assessment of CMS Quality and Efficiency Measures. Charlotte Neumann received a 2016-17 Council on Research Award from the UCLA Academic Senate to complete her research and fieldwork on nutrition in Kenya.

Ninez Ponce was selected as co-chair of the Standing Committee to Address Healthcare Disparities for the National Quality Forum, and executive planning committee member of the 2015 AcademyHealth Annual Research Meeting. She was chosen to serve as advisor for the National Institute of Minority Health Disparities Visioning on Measures and Methods, and served on an advisory panel for the journal Health Affairs on a multi-year initiative focused on health equity and the elimination of health disparities.

Lisa Rubenstein received the 2016 John M. Eisenberg National Award for Achievement in Research from the Society of General Internal Medicine, and earned a Certificate of Recognition from the VHA Health Services Research and Development Service, Quality Enhancement Research Initiative, Outstanding Service Award.

Marc Suchard was selected as a 2015 Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellow.

Steven P. Wallace received the 2016 Pearmain Prize from the USC Roybal Institute Distinguished Scholar Advisory Board.

Yifang Zhu was invited by the State Council of the People’s Republic of China and the China Overseas Exchange Association to participate in the 2015 Eminent Young Overseas Chinese Forum held in Beijing.