Skip to:

Faculty Honors & Service


Onyebuchi Arah was named an editor of the International Journal of Epidemiology.

Pablo Cicero-Fernandez and Tao Huai received the Professional Achievement Award for 2016 from the Professional Engineers in California Government for their contributions to the project, “VW Diesel Cheating Detection Team.”

Anne Coleman was elected to the National Academy of Medicine; received the 2016 Suzanne Véronneau- Troutman Award from Women in Ophthalmology; and was appointed to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine: Committee on Public Health Approaches to Reduce Vision Impairment and Promote Eye Health, which prepared the publication, “Making Eye Health a Population Health Imperative: Vision for Tomorrow.”

Roger Detels received the 2016 Chinese Government Friendship Award from the Chinese Central Government.

Chandra Ford was invited to serve as a member of the Anti- Racism Collaborative (ARC) Advisory Board to the President of the American Public Health Association; and as co-chair of the ARC’s Council on Science.

Pamina Gorbach received the “Royal Order of Sahametrie Commander” from the Royal Government of Cambodia for her contribution to public health and capacity building in Cambodia.

Nina Harawa received the Champion of Women Award from the Los Angeles Women’s Collaborative on HIV/AIDS.

Ron Hays was identified by Thomson Reuters as one of the World’s Most Highly Cited Researchers for 2016.

Felicia Schanche Hodge was appointed to serve as a member of the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s Literature Selection Technical Review Committee for 2016-2020.

Steve Horvath received the Best Paper Prize for 2015 from the editors in chief of Aging Cell.

Michael Jerrett was appointed to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine: 2017 Standing Committee on Geographical Sciences; and was identified by Thomson Reuters as one of the World’s Most Highly Cited Researchers for 2016.

Emmett Keeler served on a committee for the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine that published a report with findings and recommendations on the status and utilization of molybdenum-99 for medical use.

Gerald Kominski was appointed by UC President Janet Napolitano to serve as the UC Academic Senate representative and voting member of the newly established Executive Steering Committee on Health Benefits for UC faculty and staff.

Randall Kuhn was appointed to a five-year term as member of the Population Sciences Subcommittee for the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Mark S. Litwin received the Faculty Community Service and Praxis Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Award from the UCLA Academic Senate.

Corrina Moucheraud was elected to serve as member of the AcademyHealth Education Council.

Ninez Ponce was appointed to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Board of Scientific Counselors, National Center for Health Statistics 2017.

Beate Ritz was named president-elect of the International Society for Environmental Epidemiology; and was appointed to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee: Review of the Health Effects in Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides– Eleventh Biennial Update.

Linda Rosenstock was inducted as Honorary Fellow to the New York Academy of Medicine for receiving the 2016 Stephen Smith Award for Distinguished Contributions in Public Health.

Janet Sinsheimer was selected to receive the 2017 L. Adrienne Cupples Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service in Biostatistics from Boston University.

Marc Suchard was selected as a 2016 Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellow.

Irwin (Mel) Suffet was recognized in an April 2017 symposium named in his honor, “Chemistry of Water Treatment from Sorption to Taste and Odor: A symposium honoring the contributions of Mel Suffet,” sponsored by the American Chemical Society’s Division of Environmental Chemistry.

Catherine Sugar was selected to serve as co-chair of the End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Dialysis Facility Compare (DFC) Star Ratings Technical Expert Panel (TEP).

Marion Taylor Baer received the 2016 Catherine Cowell Award sponsored by the Food and Nutrition Section of the American Public Health Association.

Paula Tavrow received the faculty/practitioner award for the 2017 Reflection in Global Health essay contest from the Consortium of Universities for Global Health.

Leah Vriesman was named chair-elect of the 2016- 2017 Global Healthcare Management Faculty Forum for the Association of University Programs in Health Administration.

Jennifer Wortham was elected to serve as a director of Desert Healthcare District.

Elizabeth Yano was elected to serve as board member and committee member on the 2017 AcademyHealth Board of Directors.