Faculty Honors & Service

We are pleased to share with you our faculty members' awards and service recognitions from the 2017-18 academic year.

FSPH Faculty

Kathryn Atchison recently led a team that prepared a 2017 report for the Roundtable on Health Literacy within the Health and Medicine Division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The title of the report is “Integrating Oral Health, Primary Care and Health Literacy: Considerations for Health Professional Practice, Education and Policy.”

Sudipto Banerjee and collaborators received the American Statistical Association’s Outstanding Statistical Application Award for 2017.

Hiram Beltrán-Sánchez has received the 2018 Early Achievement Award from the Population Association of America.

Ron Brookmeyer has been elected to the Johns Hopkins University Society of Scholars.

Catherine M. Crespi has been appointed to the Board of Trustees of the National Institutes of Statistical Sciences.

Roger Detels has received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award and the Humanitarian Award, both from Marquis Who’s Who.

David Eisenman has been appointed by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine as a member of the Forum on Medical and Public Health Preparedness for Disasters and Emergencies. He has also been appointed by the National Academies as a member of the Committee on Evidence-Based Practices for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response.

Susan Ettner has been appointed associate dean of UCLA’s Graduate Division.

Jonathan Fielding has been appointed chair emeritus of the advisory committee for Healthy People 2030, an initiative of the U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion; adviser to UCLA Health’s Sound Body Sound Mind organization; adviser to the Harmony Project; and editor of the Annual Review of Public Health. He has also been appointed to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine Committee on a National Strategy for Cancer Control in the United States and invited as inaugural speaker to the National Academies Environmental Health Matters Initiative.

Chandra Ford has received the 2018 Research on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award from the UCLA Academic Senate Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Patricia Ganz has received the 2018 Ellen L. Stovall Award and Lecture for Advancement of Cancer Survivorship Care from the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the 2018 Giants of Cancer Care award in the supportive, palliative geriatric care category.

Hilary Godwin has been named dean of the University of Washington’s School of Public Health.

Neal Halfon has received the 2017 C. Anderson Aldrich Award for outstanding contributions to child development from the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Ronald Hays has been named among the most influential researchers in the social sciences by Clarivate Analytics.

Gerald Kominski served on a National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee that released the 2018 report, “A Smarter National Surveillance System for Occupational Safety and Health in the 21st Century.”

Carol Mangione was selected as the 2018 recipient of the John M. Eisenberg National Award for Career Achievement in Research by the Society of General Internal Medicine.

Otoniel Martinez-Maza was elected a fellow of the Section of Medical Sciences of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Jack Needleman has been appointed to the National Quality Forum Scientific Methods Panel.

Richard Sinaiko has been appointed chair of the Board of Governors for the Cedars-Sinai Health System.

Kenneth B. Wells has received the 2017 Carl Taube Award for Lifetime Contribution to the Field of Mental Health from the American Public Health Association.

Elizabeth Yano has received a 2018 Disabled American Veterans Special Recognition Award from the organization Disabled American Veterans